Home Page

Our Governors

Welcome from the Governors


The members of the Governing Body at St Margaret’s come from a wide cross section of the community served by the school.  We are all involved because we want to help the school to be a place where parents are pleased and proud to send their children and where the children reach their full potential.


Our role is to be critical friends of St Margaret’s by working with Mrs Hall, the head teacher, school staff and parents to ensure that the school manages its finances prudently, complies with current legislation and provides a rich challenging and stimulating curriculum. We meet regularly either as a full group or as a committee and we regularly visit the school to monitor progress as it is one of our responsibilities to ensure that the quality of education provided is in-line with our mutually agreed, high expectations. In recent years we have been proud of the outstanding results obtained by our pupils, but we are not complacent and will continue to strive for on-going improvements. However, throughout the school, we also stress the importance of developing the children as well rounded individuals who are prepared for life in the secondary stages of education and beyond.


Day to day running of the school is the responsibility of the head teacher and her team and, although governors are always happy to discuss school related matters, it is likely that any child specific issues would be referred to the class teacher/head teacher in the first instance.


Although St Margaret’s is relatively small, the Governing Body has ensured that the school is able to offer a fully developed curriculum that utilises modern teaching aids in facilities that are well suited to current educational needs and, in all ways, comparable to larger schools.


Governors serve a four year term therefore vacancies arise from time to time. These vacancies will be advertised on this web site and circulated to parents. Anyone interested in understanding more about the rewarding role of a School Governor is welcome to approach Mrs Hall, Mrs Paget or any existing governor.


Martyn Fall

Chair of Governors


The current Governing Body membership is as follows:


Chairman of Governors: Mrs Helen Kent-Jackson

Vice Chair of Governors: Mr David Hewlett
Headteacher: Mrs Vanessa Thomas
Foundation Governor: Mrs Lynn Collard
LA Governor: Mrs Francesca Neale
Community Governors: Mr Martyn Fall, Mrs Mary Hamblin, Mrs Carolyn Onslow
Foundation Ex-officio Governor: Rev. Barbara Dennis
Parent Governors:

Mr Alexander Linsell-Clark, Mr David Hewlett, Mrs Paula Preston, Mrs Helen Kent-Jackson
Clerk to the Governors: Mrs Hannah Cleary/Mrs Deborah Hilliard
Staff Governor: Mrs R Clayton